Political Crossfire Forums Index Political Crossfire Forums
Discuss and Debate Political, cultural and social issues.

 Political Crossfire Forums Index

Banks spamming e-mail?
Click here to go to the original topic

 
       Political Crossfire Forums Index -> PC-Tech Talk
Click here to go to the original topic        View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Reform



Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 1241
Location: Quite an experience to live in fear isn't it? That's what it is to be a slave

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 2:41 pm    Post subject: Banks spamming e-mail?  

Check out what I got in my mail... lmao

Quote: From: Chaseonline@alerts.Chase.com
Title: "Message 986933 IMPORTANT: Suspicions"



Dear customer of JPChase Bank,

Technical services of the JPchase Bank are carrying out a planned software upgrade. We earnestly ask you to visit the following link to start the procedure of confirmation on customers data.

To get started, please click the link below:

https://chaseonline.chase.com/confirm.php?account43339 .

This instruction has been sent to all bank customers and is obligatory to fallow.

Thank you,
Customers Support Service.

This Alert was sent according to your settings (*******@hotmail.com). To update your settings, log on at www.Chase.com

Please don't reply to this Alert. To send a secure message from your Inbox, log on at www.Chase.com

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

and

First Premier Bank You've struck gold
(images don't load)

:lol:

Smeg, what is that all about.
Back to top  
Patriot911



Joined: 03 Feb 2005
Posts: 6937
Location: Denver, CO

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 2:43 pm    Post subject:  

Welcome to the wonderful world of phishing. That is no more an email from Chase as I am king of the world.
Back to top  
Reform



Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 1241
Location: Quite an experience to live in fear isn't it? That's what it is to be a slave

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 2:45 pm    Post subject:  

How does it work?
Back to top  
pedagogue



Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 3752
Location: Galveston, TX

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 2:50 pm    Post subject:  

Patriot911 is absolutely right Reform; that ain't from Chase. (And I'd be willing to bet that Patriot911 thought he'd never see the day I'd agree 100 percent with something he said.) You always have to check the spelling ... that's the first tip-off. And the sure way to know is that Chase wouldn't send those.
Back to top  
Patriot911



Joined: 03 Feb 2005
Posts: 6937
Location: Denver, CO

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 2:51 pm    Post subject:  

Reform wrote: How does it work?

Well, the cut and paste job you did hides the REAL location you go to if you were to click on the link. I'll guarantee you it is no chase run web site. They'll give you some sob story about account maintenance and what not and then ask you to put in all your information again. They'll probably try to put a trojan on your computer too (trojan as in virus, not condom) when you visit the site.

In the original email you received, what is the web site that shows up in the lower left hand corner of your browser when you hover over the link?

http://www.chase.com

Its not hard to fake a web site address.

Next thing you know you find out you have 93,325 credit cards in your name and you're working in 23 states as an illegal alien. Oh, and you're broke too....
Back to top  
Reform



Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 1241
Location: Quite an experience to live in fear isn't it? That's what it is to be a slave

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 2:51 pm    Post subject:  

Ah so this is the fraudster's e-mail they expect to get info from?

Chaseonline@alerts.Chase.com


Because this one https://chaseonline.chase.com/confirm.php?account43339
Actually links to the real Chase website...

Or were the fraudsters too dumb and forgot to put in a fake website? :lol: :lol: :lol:
Back to top  
DavidXV



Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 9828

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 2:52 pm    Post subject:  

They say never click on a link from one of those or send any response to them. Mark it as spam and then if you actually have chase account, only correspond with them directly with a link that you positively know for sure is them, or by phoning them or in person, and remember your bank will never ask you your account number because they already know it.

Additionally it can sometimes be helpful to a bank to give them a copy of a fake email that is using their name, but they probably have already seen this one, i would ask just to make sure.
Back to top  
Patriot911



Joined: 03 Feb 2005
Posts: 6937
Location: Denver, CO

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 2:54 pm    Post subject:  

Reform wrote: Ah so this is the fraudster's e-mail they expect to get info from?

Chaseonline@alerts.Chase.com


Because this one https://chaseonline.chase.com/confirm.php?account43339
Actually links to the real Chase website...

Or were the fraudsters too dumb and forgot to put in a fake website? :lol: :lol: :lol:

If that website gives you an official functioning web site it is DEFINITELY phishing as that link gives an error on the "real" chase web site.
Back to top  
Reform



Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 1241
Location: Quite an experience to live in fear isn't it? That's what it is to be a slave

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 2:56 pm    Post subject:  

Patriot911 wrote: Reform wrote: How does it work?

Well, the cut and paste job you did hides the REAL location you go to if you were to click on the link. I'll guarantee you it is no chase run web site. They'll give you some sob story about account maintenance and what not and then ask you to put in all your information again. They'll probably try to put a trojan on your computer too (trojan as in virus, not condom) when you visit the site.

In the original email you received, what is the web site that shows up in the lower left hand corner of your browser when you hover over the link?

http://www.chase.com

Its not hard to fake a web site address.

Next thing you know you find out you have 93,325 credit cards in your name and you're working in 23 states as an illegal alien. Oh, and you're broke too....

lmao... yup, that was the link http://ssl-user6722.com/..../

Oh dear I gave them Rockefeller's account details... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

That is the funniest scam I have seen so far, not so funny for customers who fall for it I'm sure.
Back to top  
Patriot911



Joined: 03 Feb 2005
Posts: 6937
Location: Denver, CO

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 3:02 pm    Post subject:  

If you don't have current anti-virus software, get some. Many of those sites automatically attempt to upload a virus to you just by hitting the site.
Back to top  
Reform



Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 1241
Location: Quite an experience to live in fear isn't it? That's what it is to be a slave

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 3:11 pm    Post subject:  

Thanks guys.
Back to top  
pedagogue



Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 3752
Location: Galveston, TX

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 3:29 pm    Post subject:  

What you might want to do Reform is to forward your phish to the FBI Internet Fraud Division (IC3).
Back to top  
The Grandmaster



Joined: 12 Oct 2005
Posts: 13079
Location: West Lafayette, IN

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:47 pm    Post subject:  

Yeah, I get ones from “paypal” and “Chase” every single damn day. The transparency of this scam is amazing. You can easily see the fake link. If you ever follow it, and simply type in random s**t, it goes forward asking for more, instead of rejecting the made up info. Idiots these people are.
Back to top  
Click here to go to the original topic
       Political Crossfire Forums Index -> PC-Tech Talk
Page 1 of 1

Political Forums|Politics Connected|Contact Us



Powered by phpBB Search Engine Indexer
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group